Maple Pecan Almond Butter w/ Chia & Flax Seeds

Welcome to my first post in forever. This summer has been SO BUSY, but I can’t complain. I’ve gotten to do so many amazing things, meet so many amazing people, and see so many amazing places! Right after I got out of school I spent about a week at my grandparents, then left for D.C. on the Washington Youth Tour, came back and went to NYC with my family, served in Brunswick, GA on a mission trip, went to FUGE camp in North Carolina, and then served as a counselor on the Preteen Retreat. whew. It’s been a whirlwind of excitement for sure.

Since I finally have time at home, I decided to try making almond butter. Isn’t that what every normal teenager says?? 🙂
I follow several food bloggers on Instagram and @bakeritablog posts so many different kind of flavored nut butters that make me drool every time. I decided to take two of her recipes to make my own.

img_1302

img_1303

 

I’ve made nut butters before, but for some reason I never let them get smooth enough. Trust me, a few extra minutes in the food processor or blender is worth it! I’ve also never roasted the nuts before; roasting gives it so much more flavor.
This recipe is easy to play with, so experiment!

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cup of almonds
  • 1 cup of pecans
  • 2 tablespoons of chia seeds
  • 2 tablespoons of flax seeds
  • 3 tablespoons of maple syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoons of salt (to taste)
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla
  • Optional: 1/4-1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Combine the almonds, pecans, chia seeds, flax seeds, and the maple syrup in a bowl. Stir to evenly coat the mixture.
  • On a baking sheet, spread out the mixture.
  • Bake for 20 minutes, mixing the mixture at 10 minutes.
  • Let cool.
  • Blend mixture in high powered blender or food processor until smooth.
  • Add in salt and vanilla and blend until well combined.
  • Taste to see if you want to add more salt and/or cinnamon (I added cinnamon).
  • Store in a jar in the refrigerator.DSCN3047
Leave a Reply

