Lunch Lady Peanut Butter Bars

I used to get school lunch every. single. day.

And ok, so maybe I was weird and ordered a salad almost every day. (ps I am still weird) I just wanted to go to the salad bar and choose what I wanted on the side.  I ate wayyyy to much canned fruit and cottage cheese……. I blame it on my Midwestern mom and grandma.

Before desserts in school lunches were making children obese, the lunch ladies would make a sweet almost everyday. Sometimes we would get lucky and they would make peanut butter bars just like these, and I loved them so much. And when I found out my parents had a recipe for these babies, I was in the kitchen making a batch.

DSCN1162.JPG

So here’s to nostalgia and my love of all things peanut butter.

Ingredients

Cookie

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup quick oats

Icing

-Adjust amounts according to texture and taste.

  • about 6 tablespoons evaporated(original recipe calls for evaporated) or regular milk. I add it by the tablespoon until I get a good texture.
  • about 4 tablespoons of peanut butter
  • about 2 cups powdered sugar

 Directions

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  • In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugars.
  • Add in egg until the yellow disappears.
  • Mix in peanut butter and vanilla.
  • Add in all the dry ingredients, mixing until fully combined.
  • Spread dough into a greased 9 by 11 sheet or glass pan.
  • Cook for 15 minutes or until the edges are slightly brown.
  • Allow to cool for about 10 minutes.
  • Meanwhile, mix together icing ingredients.
  • Spread icing on while the cookies are still warm.

DSCN1174.JPG

One Comment Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    I love these so much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

