Goblin Bread

My mom first got this recipe from my grandmama and made it all the time. The name always confused me, but that didn’t stop me from eating several pieces. And apparently, I am not the only one who thinks they taste pretty amazing.

These yummy bars are gooey on the inside, crispy on the edges, and super chocolatey.

DSCN0990.JPG

 

More recently I have been the one who makes these bars. Because they are pretty simple to make, I love making them for other people.

DSCN0963.JPG

 

By “popular request” 😉

Ingredients

  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 sticks of butter
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 2/3 cups self-rising flour
  • 1 cup finely chopped pecans
  • 1 bag of chocolate chips (I use semi-sweet)

Directions

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  • Measure out the brown sugar into a large mixing bowl.
  • You have to options with the butter. -Soften the butter and then cream it with the sugar.-Or you can heat the butter in the microwave until it is just melted and then mix it well with the sugar. I usually do this- it makes the goblin bread very gooey in the middle.
  • Add in the 3 eggs. Mix until combined.
  • Add the flour and chopped pecans and mix until a thick paste like dough forms. -I chop my pecans very fine so you get their flavor without the texture.
  • Fold in the chocolate chips.
  • Spread into a 9×13 baking dish.- I usually wet my hands and pat it until it’s even and flat.
  • Bake for 30-35 minutes.-The edges should be nice and crispy and the middle a little soft. How long you bake depends on how soft you want the middle. 35 usually works
  • DSCN0977.JPG

 

 

Leave a Reply

