Banana “Ice Cream” with PB Bites

Yay for healthy desserts! This super easy banana ice cream will meet all your sweet tooth desires and diet requirements. 🙂 I tend to keep frozen bananas in the freezer so whenever I am craving this yummy dessert, I can make it in no time. I promise you will be amazed how much this tastes like the real thing.

DSCN0883.JPG

 

I decided to take a spin on cookie dough ice cream by adding some peanut butter bites to this simple banana ice cream. You may or may not know I have a slight (huge) obsession with peanut butter. Any chance I can, I try to add peanut butter to my food. To make the cookie dough/peanut butter bites, I used a recipe for Paula Deen’s peanut butter bars, but added in some oats and made the dough into tiny bites.

Ingredients

Ice Cream

  • 3 ripe Bananas
  • about 2 Tablespoons of milk (depends on how smooth it comes out)

Peanut Butter Bites

  • 1/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup quick cooking oats (or just pulse regular oats in a blender/food processor)
  • just under 1/4 cup powdered milk

Directions

  • Dice bananas into coins and freeze for several hours, ideally overnight.
  • Make the peanut butter bites by combining all the ingredients in a bowl. Stir until well combined. Chill either in the freezer or fridge. I put mine in the freezer for less than 10 minutes. This helps you to roll the dough into little balls better.
  • Once chilled, take the dough out, roll into the size you want to go in your ice cream. I made mine pretty small. Place back in the fridge until you prepare the ice cream.
DSCN0868.JPG
  • To prepare the ice cream, place the frozen bananas into a blender or food processor. I prefer the food processor because I think it turns out more smooth. Turn on the food processor,and add in a little milk to help it thicken up. It quickly turns from banana chunks to smooth, creamy ice cream.
Image-1
  • Serve by either mixing in or topping the ice cream with the peanut butter bites.
  • Keep left over peanut butter balls/dough in the fridge.
Serves 2-3
DSCN0921
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Yummy! I’m definitely making this!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kat says:

    banana + peanut butter = heaven

    Like

Leave a Reply

